MySQL User Privileges Explained

If you familiar with MySQL, following are the user privileges which available:


SELECT – Allows reading data
INSERT – Allows inserting and replacing data
UPDATE – Allows changing data
DELETE – Allows deleting data
FILE – Allows importing data from and exporting data into files


CREATE – Allows creating new databases and tables
ALTER – Allows altering the structure of existing tables
INDEX – Allows creating and dropping indexes
DROP – Allows dropping databases and tables
CREATE TEMPORARY TABLES – Allows creating temporary tables
SHOW VIEW – Allows performing SHOW CREATE VIEW queries
CREATE ROUTINE – Allows creating stored routines
ALTER ROUTINE – Allows altering and dropping stored routines
EXECUTE – Allows executing stored routines
CREATE VIEW – Allows creating new views
EVENT – Allows to set up events for event scheduler
TRIGGER – Allows creating and dropping triggers


GRANT – Allows adding users and privileges without reloading the privilege tables
SUPER – Allows connecting, even if maximum number of connections has reached, required for most administrative operations like setting global variables or killing threads for other users
PROCESS – Allows viewing processes for all users
RELOAD – Allows reloading the server settings and flushing the server’s cache
SHUTDOWN – Allows shutting down the MySQL server
SHOW DATABASES – Gives access to the complete list of databases
LOCK TABLES – Allows locking tables for the current thread
REPLICATION CLIENT – Allows the user to ask where the slaves/masters are
REPLICATION SLAVE – Needed for replication slaves
CREATE USER – Allows creating, dropping and renaming user accounts